Sherrard National Honor Society inducts 24

Twenty-four Juniors and Seniors were inducted into the Sherrard NHS (National Honor Society) in August at two ceremonies at Sherrard High School. The Sherrard NHS is celebrating its 60th year, established in 1961. The organization serves the school throughout the year in various ways. Last year the NHS organized the Veterans Day Assembly, raised over 5,000 meals for the Quad City Student Hunger Drive, served over 100 taco meals during the NHS Taco Dinner Fundraiser, and other independent projects.


Tom Thompson
SHS NHS Chapter Adviser, science teacher Tom Thompson
conducts a ceremony to induct the next National Honor
Society students for the new school year.

It's a lengthy process to be a member of the Sherrard NHS. Students must first be invited to apply for membership - sophomores through seniors must have earned at least a 3.75 cumulative GPA by the beginning of the Spring Semester of the current school year to be asked to apply for membership.

NHS Induction
Sherrard junior and seniors attend a ceremony to be
inducted into the National Honor Society for the
2020-2021 school year.

As part of the application process they have to submit an activity form detailing examples of school/community service, leadership and character since 9th grade.

"Once they fill out and submit the activity form it is shared with high school teaching staff for vetting purposes. At some point in March, the Faculty Council (a set of 5 volunteer high school teaching staff) meet to discuss the applications and to review staff feedback before voting to induct or not to induct students into the Sherrard Chapter of the NHS later in the Spring Semester.
There is no predetermined quota for selection," said NHS Advisor and science teacher Tom Thompson. View photos from the Induction Ceremony.

2020-2021 NHS
Taylor Barber Allison Maring Jessica Vestal
Kate Brown Jordan Maynard Hailee Wasson
William Epperly Carrigan Minch Michael Wherry
Evan Gagliardo Haley Olson Karissa Willems
Brady Hartman Jeffrey Remy Alex Wilson
Jennifer Keener Gabrielle Sharer Rachel Mackin
Kyle Peckenschneider    


2020-2021 NHS
Ben Churchill
Cody Dutton
Charlotte Frere
Sawyer Mital
Kacie Swanson